Logo art-in.de

Carrie Mae Weems. Hasselblad Award Laureate 2023

März 2023
Eingabedatum: 11.03.2023

Carrie Mae Weems. Hasselblad Award Laureate 2023

Portrait: Carrie Mae Weems © Rolex/Audoin Desforgesbilder

The Hasselblad Foundation is delighted to announce Carrie Mae Weems as the 2023 Hasselblad Award laureate.

Carrie Mae Weems:
“In the midst of the radical shifts taking place across cultural institutions, and as the first African American woman to receive the Hasselblad Award, some might say, ‘it’s about time!’ Nevertheless, receiving the Hasselblad Award has left me speechless. I don’t have the words to express the depth of my gratitude. To have my family name inscribed on this historic roster, alongside some of the most outstanding photographers of our time, is a cherished honor. To be recognized comes with the continued responsibility to deliver on the promise made to myself and to the field, which is to shine a light into the darker corners of our time and thereby, with a sense of grace and humility, illuminate a path forward. For this honor, I thank the Hasselblad Foundation and the jury.”

Carrie Mae Weems will receive a gold medal and the sum of SEK 2,000,000. The award also includes a medium-format Hasselblad camera from the Gothenburg-based camera company Hasselblad.

The award ceremony will take place in Gothenburg, Sweden on 13 October 2023. That same day, an exhibition of Carrie Mae Weems’s work will open at the Hasselblad Center and a new publication about the artist will be released.

The Hasselblad Foundation’s citation regarding the Hasselblad Award laureate 2023, Carrie Mae Weems:

Carrie Mae Weems’s work has for decades anticipated salient issues of our time – the struggle for racial equality and human rights – with unflinching visual and ethical force. Her artistic practice is inherently activist, poignant, and lyrical. She creates evocative, potent tableaux and confronts painful histories, institutional power, and social discriminations. At the core of Weems’s wide-ranging oeuvre is the still photograph, but she also deftly employs video, text, immersive multimedia installations, and performance. She often inserts herself in her work, thus embodying and commemorating the Black female subject.

The jury which submitted its proposal to the Hasselblad Foundation’s Board of Directors this year:

Joshua Chuang, Jury chair, independent curator, USA
Elvira Dyangani Ose, Director, Museu d’Art Contemporàni de Barcelona (MACBA), Spain
John Fleetwood, Educator and curator; director of Photo:, South Africa; co-head of photography, Royal Academy of Art, the Hague, Netherlands
Başak Şenova, Independent curator and senior postdoctoral researcher at the University of Applied Arts Vienna, Austria and Turkey
Francesco Zanot, Independent curator, Italy
Karolina Ziębińska-Lewandowska, Director, Museum of Warsaw, Poland

About the Hasselblad Award
The Hasselblad Award is an international photography prize that was awarded for the first time in 1980 to the Swedish photographer Lennart Nilsson. Since then, it has been presented annually, with the exception of 1983 and 2021.

The Hasselblad Award is granted to “a photographer recognized for major achievements”, as stated in the last will of Erna and Victor Hasselblad.

>From 2022 the award comprises the sum of SEK 2,000,000, a gold medal and a diploma. The award's winner is usually announced 8th of March, the birthday of Victor Hasselblad.

Hasselblad Foundation

Ekmansgatan 8, 412 56 Göteborg


Kataloge/Medien zum Thema: Carrie Mae Weems

Carrie Mae Weems:

- Art Basel Miami Beach 2013

- art basel miami beach 2014

- artbasel2021

- artbasel2021

- Frieze LA 2019

- Frieze London 2022

- Gwangju Biennale 1995

- MoMA Collection

- Prospect New Orleans 3, 2014

- Sharjah Biennial 2023
Neue Findungskommission der documenta 16 ist berufenKrefelder Kunstmuseen sind „Museum des Jahres“Dialog mit einem Chatbot über grundlegende Fragen zur KunstJustus Bier Preis für Kurator:innenHAP Grieshaber-Preis an Nana PetzetCarrie Mae Weems. Hasselblad Award Laureate 202340 Jahre Künstlerhaus Dortmund + neue GeschäftsführungLuiza Margan ist 2023 Artist in Residence der ZF KunststiftungDas ZKM trauert um Peter WeibelÇağla Ilk als Kuratorin des Deutschen Pavillons auf der Kunstbiennale in Venedig 2024 berufenHans-Purrmann-Preise 2023 an Yalda Afsah und Catherine SankeMuseum Ludwig erhält aus der Schenkung Bartenbach von hochkarätigen FotografienLONG LVIVE LVIV - Support for Ukraine!Kunstfreiheit und staatliche Interventionsmöglichkeiten86° (WALTER HALIT). Natascha Sadr HaghighianThe Power of the Arts - Preisträgerprojekte 2022 stehen festThinking Photography + Writing PhotographyOpen Call ab sofort online auf nextmuseum.io!Prix Ars Electronica startet in die nächste RundeAndreas Hoffmann wird neuer Geschäftsführer der documentaWilliam Forsythe übergibt sein Archiv ans ZKM KarlsruheValérie Knoll wird neue Direktorin des Kölnischen Kunstvereins Stipendiat*innen und die Preisträgerin der Günther-Peill-StiftungNeue Doppelspitze für die art KARLSRUHE: Kristian Jarmuschek und Olga Blaß Greta Kühnast ist neue Direktorin des Wenzel-Hablik-MuseumsGiga-Hertz-Preis 2022 an Daniel Teruggi Preis Peter C. Ruppert für Konkrete Kunst an Inge DickUlla von Brandenburg erhält Sparda-Kunstpreis »Kubus«Ernst Franz Vogelmann-Preis 2023 an Gregor SchneiderLeitungswechsel im Max Ernst Museum: Neune Direktorin Madeleine Frey

Responsive image

Anzeige Galerie Berlin

Responsive image
Culterim Gallery

Anzeige Galerie Berlin

Responsive image
Art Laboratory Berlin

Anzeige Galerie Berlin

Responsive image
tunnel 19

Anzeige Galerie Berlin

Responsive image
Galerie Parterre Berlin

Anzeige Galerie Berlin

Responsive image
Galerie Nord | Kunstverein Tiergarten